Geoff Hirson

Geoff Hirson Talks About the Renewable Fuel Standard Program

geoff hrison

Renewable fuels are fuels produced from renewable resources. Some examples include biofuels and hydrogen fuel. This contrasts with non-renewable fuels like natural gas, petroleum, other fossil fuels and nuclear energy. Innovator Geoff Hirson has been at the forefront of renewable fuels and finding alternative sources of power, which includes diesel and jet fuel. Mr. Hirson’s long career in the renewable fuel sector has given him the experience and knowledge to expand on the new renewable fuel standard program that reduces greenhouse gas emissions and expand the nation’s renewable fuels sector while reducing reliance on imported oil.

The Renewable Fuel Standard Program was authorized under the Energy Policy Act of 2005 and expended under the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007. This is a national policy program that requires a certain volume of renewable fuel that is meant to reduce or replace the quality of petroleum-based transportation fuel, jet fuel or heating oil. There are 4 renewable fuel categories under the Renewable Fuel Standard Program, and they are: advanced biofuel, cellulosic biofuel, total renewable fuel, and biomass-based diesel.

For a fuel to qualify as a renewable fuel under the Renewable Fuel Standard Program, EPA must determine that the fuel is qualified under the statute and regulations. The fuels must have a reduction in the Greenhouse Gas emissions. The EPA has approved fuel pathways under the Renewable Fuel Standard Program under these four categories: ethanol made from sugarcane; jet fuel made from camelina; cellulosic ethanol made from corn stover; compressed natural gas made from municipal wastewater treatment facility. The EPA continues to approve additional pathways which include new technologies and new feedstocks.

The program follows compliance rules and regulations. Compliance works when it blends renewable fuels into transportation fuels. Each fuel type is given a D-code that identifies the renewable fuel type, which is based on the feedstock used, fuel type produced, energy inputs and GHG reduction thresholds, among other requirements. There are 4 categories that have these fuel types assigned with D-codes: renewable fuel (non-advanced/conventional biofuel), advanced biofuel, biomass-based diesel, and cellulosic biofuel. These renewable fuels are also given a renewable identification number that demonstrates compliance standards.

This Renewable Fuel Standard Program might sound complicated, but the whole idea is to utilize renewable sources that contain a cleaner natural fuel, which protects the environment and is a more fuel-efficient source.

By Geoff Hirson

Official blog of Geoff Hirson